Tax profession’s best and brightest recognised at the inaugural Tax Adviser of the Year Awards

MEDIA RELEASE 28 March 2014:   The Tax Institute has announced the winners of the inaugural Tax Adviser of the Year Awards, showcasing the profession’s leading experts and rising stars.

Introduced as part of the Institute’s 70th anniversary celebrations, the awards recognise tax professionals across all levels of experience for their professionalism, leadership, high ethical standards and commitment to excellence.

The winners in each category – Chartered Tax Adviser of the Year, Tax Adviser of the Year and Emerging Tax Star – were announced at a ceremony in Hobart on Thursday, 27th of March during the Institute’s 29th National Convention.

The Chief Executive Officer of The Tax Institute, Noel Rowland, said there had been an overwhelming response to the awards.

“These awards celebrate excellence in tax. From an incredibly strong field of entrants, the judges selected three worthy winners at the top of their game or on their way to the top of this important profession,” Mr Rowland said.

David Russell QC was named Chartered Tax Adviser of the Year. A distinguished barrister with a track record of advocating a fairer tax system, Mr Russell was commended for his active participation in tax forums in Australia and overseas. The judges also recognised his work authoring papers across a diverse range of taxation topics, as well as his generosity mentoring junior members of the bar.

The Tax Adviser of the Year award went to PwC corporate tax partner Wayne Plummer. Mr Plummer impressed the judges with his many years of high-level technical work, industry leadership and reputation for cultivating mutual trust and respect with clients and colleagues. He was also praised for his frequent contributions to the development of tax law and administration through the preparation of technical papers for The Tax Institute and the Australian Taxation Office.

Matthew Andruchowycz, a senior associate at Wallmans Lawyers, won the Emerging Tax Star Award. According to the judges, he displayed an ability to work on complex matters at a level significantly beyond what would be expected of a tax professional with fewer than five years’ experience. A clear future leader of the tax profession, Mr Andruchowycz also had an outstanding record of networking activities, including his involvement with The Tax Institute.

Mr Rowland congratulated the winners and thanked the judges for their hard work.

“The quality of the applications across all categories is a testament to the strength of the tax profession in Australia. With such dedicated and talented individuals working across all levels of the profession, I am confident the profession has a bright future,” Mr Rowland said.

About the awards

The applications were assessed by an independent expert judging panel made up of leading industry figures.

The Chartered Tax Adviser of the Year Award recognises advisers with more than 10 years’ tax experience who have an impressive record of achievement as thought leaders and making a positive contribution for their clients.

The Tax Adviser of the Year Award recognises outstanding tax professionals with more than five years’ tax experience, who have achieved success through inspiration to others, innovation and excellence in tax initiatives while contributing to the tax community.

The Emerging Tax Star Award category is open to tax professionals with less than five years’ tax experience who have demonstrated commitment, outstanding professionalism, high ethical standards and initiative in their approach to tax issues.

Dylan Malloch, Sefiani Communications Group: 0407 620 613

Michael Flynn CTA is President of the National Council at The Tax Institute.

The Tax Institute is Australia's leading professional association in tax. Its 13,000 members include tax agents, accountants and lawyers as well as tax practitioners in corporations, government and academia.


See all

Follow Us