Join a Tax Institute Technical Committee

I am pleased to advise all members of an important and exciting opportunity to potentially become an active member of The Tax Institute’s technical committees.

The purpose of our technical committee structure is to support the policy and advocacy activities of The Tax Institute as carried out by the Tax Policy and Advocacy team and to ensure that member concerns with tax law and administration are represented.

A re-tuning of this purpose, combined with the fact that the ATO has a new consultative model, has resulted in changes to our committee structure. These changes aim to ensure that as many Tax Institute members as possible are actively engaged in supporting our policy and advocacy activities and that volunteer members are fully engaged with driving the purpose of the committees. They also seek to ensure that there is appropriate geographic representation and input into committee activities.

The new technical committee structure comprises:

  • Large Business (large business and international issues)
  • FBT
  • GST
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Superannuation
  • Not-For-Profit; and
  • Technical Resource (SME and tax practitioner issues as well as all issues not covered by one of the above committees).

As well as special purpose sub-committees and working groups covering issues as needed, including:

  • Tax Reform; and
  • Deregulation.

Each committee has a charter that sets out the roles and responsibilities of members and these are available on request.

I encourage members who wish to become involved in the technical committees to consider the new structure and express your interest in being involved with a particular committee that aligns most closely with your expertise and ability to contribute.

Robert Jeremenko

Robert Jeremenko CTA is Senior Tax Counsel of The Tax Institute.

The Tax Institute is Australia’s leading professional association in tax. Its 13,000 members include tax agents, accountants and lawyers as well as tax practitioners in corporations, government and academia.


See all

Follow Us